Browns Town 1964 (Gray & Company, 2003)
Terry Pluto
Buy: Amazon US, Amazon UK
Listed: Pro Football Journal Top 100, #85

Originally published in 1997 as ‘When All the World Was Browns Town’, Terry Pluto’s book looks back at the 1964 Cleveland Browns. Founded in 1946 in the All-America Football Conference, the Browns won the league in all four seasons before the merger with the NFL. They followed the merger by playing in the NFL Championship game for six straight seasons, winning three times. After an eight-year gap, the 1964 team returned to the big game, defeating the Colts, 27-0. They remain the last Browns team to win a championship and Pluto’s book tells the story of that team and their year.

Leave a Reply